Carding Fleece

My mini carders arrived yesterday but I didn’t really get a chance to have a go at carding my fleece which has been washed and dried. So this afternoon I sat down with my pillowcase full of Zwartbles fleece and began carding with the mini carders (imagine two dog combs). To begin with it took quite a while and a lot of effort but after around half an hour I began to get into the rhythm and it went quite well. The only drawback is the fleece is really short staplewise and quite matted together so it takes quite a few rounds before the fleece is ready but looks really impressive when done. I have made five rolags (rolls of carded fleece) but still have a bagful of the washed fleece to go through.

The other fleeces arrived this afternoon, they are really mucky and smelly and parts are full of sheep poo (definitely a job for the surgical gloves). I am half way through one fleece and have two left and thn 250g of alpaca which looks lovely and soft (but still whiffy).

I can’t wait until I get to have a go at spinning, I think by christmas I will have deserved the spinning wheel after all my hard work.

Hoping to get the decorations up tomorrow or possibly the weekend (have got my christmas knitting club meeting tomorrow night, so will let you know how I get on on Friday.

BYYEEEEE

Leave a Reply

