Spinning

I would like to thank Evie for her comment and along that line of thought I am going to tell you how I got interested in spinning.

I have been hand knitting since I was a child and really got into hand knitting in a big way when I came out of a violent relationship and left home. The combination of being scared to go out and living in a damp and cold flat made me take up knitting again. I knitted a lot of baby cardigans for my nephew and toys for my sister.

When I got married I set up a website to sell my knitwear and got orders from all over the world including Hong Kong and Belgium. Eventually I got fed up of selling my knitwear for peanuts and stopped accepting orders.

A few years ago I decided I wanted to try machine knitting so that I could begin accepting orders again and it would take me half the time to knit up the orders. I accepted a lot of machine knit orders and got a top end of the market knitting machine and began knitting for a bespoke knitwear designer. Once that work began to dwindle I advertised and accepted other orders. To date I have knitted for numerous small companies and individuals and all sorts of garments etc.

I am now ready to move on to the next stage which is spinning my own yarn. Where I live it is difficult to be able to go out to a shop and buy yarn and have to get most of it via the internet so it feels the logical next step.

I purchased a drop spindle but soon got fed up of it as I had to stand up whilst doing it and with my poor health I found it really hard going so have now luckily been able to obtain a spinning wheel for christmas.

I have been washing fleece and drying it for a couple of weeks and now have to card it so that it will be ready for me to spin.

I have no idea whether I will be any good at spinning, but I will give it my all.

I will let you all know how the spinning goes after christmas.

2 thoughts on “Spinning

  1. I’ve got a bunch of different coloured merino fleese, which i was going to use to spin my own yarn, but unfortunatly i’ve never got round to doing it! i need a proper drop spindle, i’d attempted to make my own, but it doesn’t work so good.
    i’d love a wheel but they’re pretty expensive, good if you’ll use it often but i know i wouldn’t!

    Like

Leave a Reply

