Hubby’s Christmas Jumper

This is the second time I have written this post, the first time didn’t load so here I go again.

For those of you who have been reading my blog over the past month you will remember my beloved hand knit jumper which I spent weeks and weeks working on, only for it to be ruined when I machine washed it (as stated on the ball band). For those of you interested please check out “Disaster Has Struck”.

After conversing with Alison from Knit Today over the pass couple of weeks (I never did receive a reply to my email from Sublime) I have finally received a letter from Sublime with a Freepost label to send them my beloved jumper.

Here is what the jumper was supposed to look like:

img011

and here is what mine looks like (it actually looks better in the picture than it does in real life):

jumper 006

As you can see it is out of shape and the neck is two/three times the size it is supposed to be.

The pattern was from Knit Today Issue 15 November Issue, and is called Skinny Ribs and is a 4×3 rib. It was knitted in Sublime’s Extra Fine Merino Wool Dk in Dusted Grey shade 018 (same yarn as stated in the pattern). The yarn’s RRP is from £3.70 a ball and for the medium size it tooks 15 balls (plus the spare ball in case of shortage etc). As you can guess I thought I was going to have to re-mortgage the house to pay for it.

The cost of the yarn is not really the issue, it is the fact that I followed the washing instructions on the ball band and it ruined all my hard work. On top of this disappointment, I had to disappoint hubby on Christmas morning as he could not wear it (although he did try it on and it was awful on him).

As for now I will have to wait and see what happens when Sublime receives the jumper, until then hubby’s next jumper is going to be knitted in good old Sirdar.

Leave a Reply

