Carding Fleeces

Last night I received a telephone call from my cousin up in Staffordshire letting me know he had spoken to a farmer friend of his and he would be able to get me 30 fleeces (once the little lambs are sheared) and would that do me, I took a deep breath and said “well, it’ll do for now” and we both burst out laughing. To make it worth my while spending the money on fuel driving up there (around a five hour round trip) I needed a lot of fleeces to make it viable (but I expected ten or twelve not 30).

Anyway, after the telephone call last night I thought I had better get on and finish off washing the three fleeces which I had here which still needed washing. So off I went and pulled out a cream Ryeland Fleece which I had bought from Ebay and weighed 900gms. I was really disappointed as half of that weight was sheep sh*t, so I separated all the muck out of the fleece and washed it and washed it and washed it, after four lots of washing it was a bit cleaner and I found the fleece was actually a off white rather than a cream. The fleece is now drying on racks.

When I got up today I turned my mind to carding some of the fleece which I had already begun carding in a hope I would finish it today and would be able to begin spinning tomorrow. After four hours of carding my wrists were hurting a lot and I stopped and looked at the amount I had carded, not a lot. Oh yes the carded fleece looked a lot (it was all nice and airy) but the pillowcase which contained the uncarded fleece had hardly gone down.

After sitting and thinking about it for a while I checked out my finances online and worked out that with the money I had got from selling my old golf clubs and some other money I had saved and if I put the money I am due for some knitting work I am doing and also put in my Ebay funds which I had made I could just about afford a drum carder.

drum carder

The drum carder as you can see looks the biz. It is supposed to be a lot quicker and easier than hand carding (hand carding is using two dog brushes and loading one up with the uncarded fleece and then combing them backwards and forwards until it is light and airy and all the icky bits are out).

So I took a deep breath and went online and ordered the drum carder (found it a lot cheaper than a couple of other places and it also included the cost of postage which saved me £20). So I packed up the carders and the fleece until my brand new drum carder arrives.

All I have to do now is break the news to hubby when he comes home from work.

Wish Me Luck!!!

One thought on “Carding Fleeces

  1. I’ve just made the same investment, you won’t know yourself it makes SUCH a difference you’ll have heaps of carded wool in minutes. I haven’t dared use mine on my long dangled Wensleydale wool but the shorter combings are transformed in seconds

    Like

Leave a Reply

