My First KAL

I have finally completed my first KAL (knitalong) on Ravelry. I took part in the “Thrifty Knitters Sock Club June KAL” and chose the Mojo socks.

I completed the socks successfully (well reasonably successful, I made a design alteration and only knitted the ridge section once each time), washed them and am happy with them. They fit great but I don’t think I would knit them again as I am not really keen the stitch pattern.

Mojo Socks

I have also finally completed the camisole knitted in the Debbie Bliss 100% Silk. It is absolutely gorgeous. One thing I would say about this yarn is not to machine wash it as it comes out a bit fluffy and bobbly as if it has been worn an awful lot. I learnt this after I washed the french knickers but had to wash the camisole so that it would match.

Camisole

I have signed up to 3 other KAL, two of them are part of Goddess Knits and are for a Mystery Anniversary Shawl and a Mystery pair of socks and the third KAL is part of the One Skein Group and is for a needle case.

So far I am half way through the first clue of the shawl and the socks. I am a bit annoyed about the clue for the socks as there was a mistake in the pattern and we were only made aware of it today (the KAL began yesterday) so I had to frog (unravel) the cuff of the sock and re-knit it. I am hoping that there won’t be any other errors in the pattern as I really don’t want to have to start again.

I am quite confident that I will be able to keep up with the KAL’s as the clues come out weekly and so far the clues equate to a small amount of knitting each week.

Wish me luck as I think I will need it with the lace shawl!!!

Leave a Reply

