ICSI Update

You will all be pleased to hear that I have nearly reached the end of my 1st ICSI cycle.

A fortnight ago I went in for my 1st stimms scan to see how I was reacting to the stimulating drugs. I was told my uterine lining was really good but my follicles in my ovaries weren’t quite as big as they should be. So they upped my dosage of meds and sent me on my way.

Heswall

1st stimms scan

A couple of days later we travelled back to the hospital for my 2nd stimms scan and again was told my lining was good but again my follicles weren’t quite as big as they would have liked. They saw about 15 follicles in each ovary, one follicle was 18mm, one was 15mm and one was 13mm, the reast were less than 10mm, they like the follicles to be around 20mm for egg collection.

I was dreading them telling me they were going to cancel my cycle but was told they would give me a phone call later in the day to tell me whether the egg collection would be possible on the Friday morning.

Heswall 2

We were around half way home when the phone call came and thankfully it was with good news, they had decided to continue with the egg collection on the Friday morning and I was told all the information I needed to know with regards to taking my HCG shot etc.

2nd stimms scan

pre egg collection

Friday morning arrived really quickly, I waddled into the hospital with my very swollen stomach (I had not slept much as my stomach was so swollen it was causing a lot of discomfort) and hubby went to provide his sample and I got into my gown and dressing gown.

egg collection

I was so nervous as you can tell from the look on my face when I was in the egg collection room.

Liverpool Womens Hospital

The anaethetist had problems finding a vein to administer the anaesthetic but finally he found one on the inside of my left wrist, at this point hubby was led out of the room. It didn’t feel very long before I was woken up and was told it was all over. I was in a lot of pain and could hardly move. The nurses were a bit concerned at the amount of pain I was in, so was helped into a wheelchair to be taken back into the ward.

The anaethetist came back to see me and gave me some Morphine and some anti-sickness medication as I had started to throw up. Shortly after he came back as I was still in a lot of pain and not too good. It took a total of three lots of medication before the vomitting calmed down, I was so relieved as the doctor had started talking about my being kept it and I really wanted to go home.

Before we left we were told we had had 8 eggs which was really good and was told we would have a phone call on Saturday to tell us whether any of the eggs had fertilised.

Liverpool Womens Hospital

On Saturday morning the phone call came. Out of the 8 eggs, 5 were mature enough to go ahead for fertilisation, but only one had actually fertilised. I was gutted. I had really hoped to have had more than that, at least 2 so we would have been able to have the 2 embryos transferred and at most a couple left over to freeze in case it didn’t all work out.

I spent all weekend crying and feeling like the whole cycle had gone wrong right from the beginning.

On Monday afternoon we went back to the hospital to have the embryo put back in. The embryologist was so nice, she told me it was a really good day 3 embryo and was right on track and that it was definitely a little fighter. On Day 3 it should be at the 8 cell stage but it looks bigger than that so it has obviously grown a lot bigger than it should have.

Day 3 Embryo

The Egg Transfer went really well, there was no pain or discomfort and we saw the embryo on the screen so we took a picture of it.

It felt so surreal walking out of the hospital being technically pregnant, I still can’t quite believe it.

Day 3 Embryo

We have nicknamed it “popcorn” as it looks like a piece of popcorn and I didn’t like calling it “it”, “he” or “she”.

All we have to do now is wait for the two weeks to see whether our little popcorn decided to hang around and settle in for 9 months.

I will of course keep you updated on the outcome but for now I am taking it very easy and praying that we have a positive outcome.

One thought on “ICSI Update

Leave a Reply

