Some Knitting News

The past few months have been spent with my failed ICSI treatment, but I did manage to find some time to do some knitting.

A couple of months ago I received an email from a lady in America asking whether it would be possible for me to duplicate a Christmas Stocking which her daughter had. I of course said I could and set to work on it. It didn’t take me as long as I thought it would and I was really pleased with the outcome. I am also pleased to say the lady was also very pleased with the Stocking.

Xmas Stocking 1

105_2066

Just before the ICSI treatment began I did some spinning. The fleece I was using was some “Welsh Ewe” fleece which I had hand-dyed and decided to ply it with a ply of the same spun yarn in its natural colour. I still have some of it left to spin and am hoping to finish it all off soon.

105_2077

This is the cardigan which I completed a while ago but never got round to photographing. It is a lovely and light cardigan and I can’t wait until the Summer so I get a chance to wear it.

105_2082

My hubby surprised me a couple of months ago and asked me to knit him a hat, so off we went to Hobbycraft to buy some yarn. He chose two balls of Patons Inca which of course is very chunky and handwash only.

hat

After all my hard work on the hat he decided he did not really like the hat and asked me to knit him another one, which I duly did and will post pictures of it as soon as I get a chance.

A fortnight ago I received an email from the BBC asking if I would be interested in knitting a jumper for Roger Moore who would be appearing on “The One Show” on the following Wednesday. I of course got all excited until I finished reading the email which I had received on the Friday evening and realised that they wanted someone close to London as they weren’t getting the knitting pattern until the Monday morning and of course needed the jumper by the Wednesday morning. I had to decline the offer explaining that I lived too far away. I was totally gutted at having lost the chance of some fame.

I watched the show on Wednesday wondering whether they had gotten hold of someone to have knitted the jumper. I wasn’t surprised to see that they hadn’t managed to get someone to knit a full sized jumper and only produced a small jumper on an action man sized doll to Roger Moore.

Perhaps in future they will give more notice and I may get my five minutes of fame.

Leave a Reply

