Christmas Knitting

Firstly I would like to wish all my followers and readers “A Very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year”.

Now that that is out of the way you will be glad to hear that I have finally taken pictures of my finished knitting projects.

Firstly are the dreaded “Firestarter” socks. They were a nightmare to knit and I very nearly gave up half way through the first sock. I have never come across a knitting pattern with so many errors and no errata.

After all the hard work I don’t like them. I know the pattern was a freebie off of the internet but am I the only one who still feels that the pattern should be correct!!!

What do you think of the finished article???

Firestarter

After knitting hubby his black beanie and him not liking it I agreed to knit him another one in a different colour and different stitch pattern. I found this one on the “Socks for Soldiers” website.

It is a great pattern and so easy to knit (although a bit boring). I did wonder whether it would fit hubby as it did look a bit on the small side despite my knitting the “large” size.

You will be glad to hear that he likes this beanie and as you can tell he loves wearing it.

Beanie Hat

Sometime around the beginning of this year (well I think it was this year) my my sister decided to knit a fluffy throw. Now this is someone who does not have much patience so it was doomed to fail from the beginning. We found some cheap yarn off of the internet and ordered it.

After spending an hour reminding her how to knit and cast on etc she went off home.

The outcome is that she completed one whole square and a few rows of the second and had packed it away. As money is a bit on the tight side this Christmas I asked her whether she would like me to complete the throw as part of her Christmas present. She agreed and dropped off the one completed square and the remainder of the yarn.

I have spent the past few weeks knitting stockinette squares, they are so boring to knit and was so pleased when I casted off the final square and despite my hate of sewing up settled down listening to a podcast and sewed it together.

I am quite pleased with the outcome. I am a bit disappointed about the way some of the balls of yarn “pooled” the colours but it couldn’t be helped so I just hope she likes it after all the hard work I put into it.

Fluffy Throw

Now that my Christmas knitting is completed I have decided to get cracking on something for myself, all I have to do now is decide what to knit.

If anyone has any great patterns they would like to share then please feel free to leave a comment or email me.

I would like to take this chance to thank everyone who has left comments for me. I really appreciate them and it makes me feel really happy that I know someone is reading this blog (other than hubby). If you have any ideas on things you would like me to blog about then please let me know.

MERRY CHRISTMAS

Leave a Reply

