Machine Knitting and My Etsy Shop

First of all I thought I would show you what I have been machine knitting over the past 6 months.

The first is a baby shawl in a lovely baby blue. It didn’t take long to machine knit, but….the fringing is something totally different…it took me hours.

Lace Baby Shawl

The second is a cardigan which I made a couple of years ago and only found a short while ago. The picture does not do it justice as it is a very intricate pattern done on the garter carriage.

The garter carriage is an accessory which you can get for the Brother Knitting Machine and it does the purl stitch on the right side which the knitting machine on it own is not capable of doing (unless you manually purl the stitch).

The garter carriage chugs along across the row on its own and it takes an age to do one row. I am sure I could handknit a row by the time it goes across one row.

The cardigan also has a zip which was the first time I had put a zip into a handmade knitted garment. It wasn’t so difficult but I think next time I will try and use the sewing machine to stitch it in place as my handstitching leaves a lot to be desired.

Garter Carriage Cardigan

The shawl is already up in my Etsy shop and the cardigan will be up soon.

For those of you who don’t know I have have an Etsy shop in which I sell handknitted and machine knitted garments, beaded jewellery, beaded stitch markers and now some hand dyed roving all ready for spinning.

You can find my shop either by clicking on the advert at the top left of this post or by going directly to

Since I have had my Etsy shop I have not sold many things so thought I would ask you my dedicated readers what you would like to see in my shop. Would you like to see children’s clothes, more dog coats, men’s clothing???

Please leave me a comment letting me know or email me at knitterscarlet@aol.com

I would dearly love to know as at the moment I feel like I am not making what people want to buy.

I would also like to have your comments on how I can improve my Etsy shop.

On that note I will leave you in peace and look forward to hearing all of your comments.

:wave:

One thought on “Machine Knitting and My Etsy Shop

Leave a Reply

