Latest Knitting Order and Other Goodies

My latest knitting order is off a lady who likes the pink lace machine knitted cardigan which I have on Etsy in a larger size. I of course said it wouldn’t be a problem….I was wrong.

Lace Cardigan

I have cast it on a total of six times and every time I have had a problem and had to start all over again.

The first time I cast on knitted 20 rows and then dropped a stitch and it ran all the way down to the bottom of the cardigan. With it being lace I had no chance of picking the stitch up.

The second and third time the same thing happened.

The fourth time I cast on knitted the first two rows of stocking stitch and then realised I was knitting the wrong size…..AAAAARRRRRRRGGGGGGGHHHHHHHH

The fifth time I cast on the correct number of stitches and as I was knitting the waste yarn it all fell off….I had of course ran out of waste yarn mid row and it fell off.

The sixth time I was hoping was going to knit up okay as it was now Wednesday afternoon and I had promised the lady I would have the cardigan completed and in the post to her by Monday. I knitted the first 60 rows with no problems and left it for the night as I was feeling quite tired.

This evening I thought I would knit to row 158 which is when I needed to change the stitch pattern. I was on row 120 when my knit carriage didn’t seem to go across correctly, but all the stitches had been knitted to I continued…..this was a big mistake…..A couple of rows later I noticed that two of the stitches hadn’t knitted off and had actually come off of the needles……Yes you guessed it the two stitches ran all the way down to the bottom of the cardigan.

I couldn’t believe it, it is now Thursday and I haven’t managed to complete even the back yet, there is no way I am going to be able to complete the cardigan by Monday as I cannot work on the knitting machine for very long as my back and Pancreas begin to hurt, so the maximum time I can work on the machine is half an hour.

I decided to leave the cardigan until tomorrow and will hopefully have peace and quiet to work on it as for some reason when hubby is in the room with me everything goes wrong. He is definitely a machine knitting jinx.

This afternoon I decided it was perfect weather to wash a couple of the fleeces which I had gotten from my cousin last Christmas. Hubby was wandering around looking bored so I thought I would enlist his help.

This was a good move on my part as usually I have to stand on tip-toes to wash them in the kitchen sink and even then have to stretch and wash the fleeces in very small amounts which taken me forever.

In and hour and a half hubby and I managed to wash two of the fleeces. I skirted them (got the really dirty bits off) and hubby washed and rinsed them, I then took them outside to put them on the homemade rack which my father and hubby had constructed.

I am looking forward to dyeing these fleeces over the weekend as I have purchased some dyes in gorgeous colours.

I am dreading having to start this cardigan again tomorrow, so please keep your fingers crossed for me that seventh time is the charm!!!

Leave a Reply

