Ill Health (again) and Knitting Orders

Yet again I begin this blog with an apology. I know I said I would blog more regularly but my back has had different ideas. Yes, you guessed it I pushed my back too far and it went again (twice)…I have now learnt my lesson and am taking it really easy as I would definitely like it to be healed by Christmas…

Backs are funny things (not literally)….you don’t give them a second thought until you hurt them and then it is all you can think of. Every move I make hurts and sometimes even breathing hurts…Every couple of days I wake up during the night and am in agony, so have to take my strong painkillers which means that I sleep through most of the next day and nothing gets done….

Take last weekend for instance, most of the weekend I felt okay…had to take the Ibuprofen but not the stronger painkillers…On Monday I had to go out and do some grocery shopping as we were running out of most things and hubby was working, so I got dressed, took some Ibuprofen and went out.

Everything went okay until I pushed my back too far (again). I went to Wilkinsons to get some Christmas shopping then to Morrisons for the grocery shopping. Poundstretchers was next as I was in search of a baby doll to be a model for me (will blog about that next time). I then had to call at Farm Foods to get something for my tea as I had decided to have pizza and don’t really like the ones pre-made in Morrisons.

By the time I had left Morrisons I should have really gone home as my back was hurting, but no, I pushed it further and continued shopping. I then had to call at my parents as I had some photos which I had printed out for my father. He had just got home and had bought a new tumble dryer so I stayed to show him and my mum how to use it. Of course then my mum asked me to show her how to use her laptop (again) and then had to stop at hubby’s work to drop off his food for tea. Whilst there my mum phoned me up as she was having problems with the laptop (again) and I had to call back there to show her how to sort it out.

I had left the house at 3pm and did not get home until 9.30pm…A looooonnnnngggg day……

The rest of the week has meant that I have been resting my back trying to get it to heal. Backs are slow healers.

My Stitch’n’Bitch meeting was this evening so I had to get the four necklaces which had been ordered before my back went five-six weeks ago completed. I had only done one of them and after sitting there trying to get my head round the complex beading patterns decided to give two of the ones I had pre-made and were up on Etsy for sale, this only left one. I had major problems getting my head round the patterns and eventually found a really easy one and made that up over the course of two days, just in time for tonights Stitch’n’Bitch. The good news is, the lady who had ordered them loved them and totally understood the reason it took so long for her to receive them and I got paid.

Why is it when you are ill you get loads of orders all at once and when you are healthy there are none. Just before my back went I was asked to knit 50 headbands, 2 dog sweaters and the 4 beaded necklaces…since then I have also been asked to knit a 48″ cabled cardigan and of course the requests of baby cardigans off of my mother and sister.

I got the two sample headbands knitted and they were approved and now need to knit 25 of them before Christmas….one of the dog sweaters is completed and I have started on the second which is a complex four sets of cables pattern and finished the beaded necklace order…Oh I have also completed one of the baby cardigans for my sister.

All I have to do now is get the cabled dog sweater finished and knit all 25 headbands before Christmas…the rest can wait until the New Year…

I have now got a new Laptop and that took some setting up as I had a million and one programmes to install on it. The first few days was a nightmare with it as for some reason everytime I ran the Windows Update it would mess the laptop up totally, which meant resetting it all back to the Factory Settings. Finally I sorted it out and it is working brilliantly.

Next time I blog I will post some pics of what I have been working on and hopefully will have good news about my health, until then wrap up warm – preferably in something nice and woolly…

One thought on “Ill Health (again) and Knitting Orders

Leave a Reply

