Fearless Knitting Workbook – Chapter One

Just before Christmas my copy of “Fearless Knitting Workbook” arrived in the post. The write up on the front says “The Step-By-Step Guide to Knitting Confidence” and is by “Jennifer E Seiffert”.

My copy is hard cover and is also spiral bound which is brilliant for keeping the pages open.

61lQ-%2BX6NTL._SL500_AA240_[1]

Chapter One is entitled “General Advice”.

This chapter takes you through the accessories you may need when knitting, reference books and internet sites, your knitting environment and then moves onto your knitting style.

A good point of this chapter is that it takes you through Gauge Swatches which is something I hide away from. It is very rare that I will knit a gauge swatch and will only knit one if it is really necessary.

The next part goes through how to read your knitting and the way the stitches lie on the needles.

Another good part is the Finishing Skills section as it includes a section on assessing mistakes and also a good list of knitting abbreviations.

I found this first chapter a really good source of advice when beginning to knit. I have been knitting for over 20 years and found quite a few useful things in this first chapter.

I have decided to work through this book chapter by chapter and will be posting about each chapter as I complete it. I hope you my posts helpful and informative.

6 thoughts on “Fearless Knitting Workbook – Chapter One

    • I’ll be putting up pics of my Chapter 2 work along with a review of it in the next couple of days.

      Glad you are enjoying the blog and a big thank you for taking the time to leave me a comment.

      Love

      Scarlet

      Like

  1. Knitter Scarlet, Hello from the Fearless Knitting Workbook’s author. I can’t tell you how gratifying it is to read reactions from readers and find out that your book is succeeding in its mission! I look forward to reading your blog as you work through the chapters. And I love your new car! I just got a new car, a Nissan Cube.

    Like

    • Thank you so much for reading my blog….I am on cloud nine in having someone famous reading my posts and leaving me comments.

      I am really enjoying your book and love the stitch patterns used in Chapter 2, they are so pretty.

      Love

      Scarlet
      xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

