Spinning Merino

Last month I decided to try spinning with some pre-processed merino fibre I had purchased off the internet. This was going to be the first time for me to spin something which I hadn’t personally processed from the raw fibre…I was really excited…

The fibre was quite dense and was in clumps rather than in roving form…but it was a gorgeous shade of ruby red…

Merino1

I had just over a 100g of the fibre so split it in half and spun two bobbins of singles..It didn’t spin as easily or as uniformly as I had first thought it would…to be truthful it was hard work as the fibre was so dense and was difficult to draft it to spin very finely…the only good thing was that there weren’t any slubs in it..

Merino2

I was quite proud how it finely spun up and then proceeded to 2-ply it…This went very smoothly and I had a lot of fun with this stage…

Merino3

Once plied I was surprised to find that it wasn’t as soft as I had thought it would be, but after soaking it and then hanging it to dry, it did soften up and looked stunning.

Merino4

Merino5

I have been asked (more than once) what I intend to do with my handspun…I haven’t quite decided..I would like to sell it (this was my original idea when I first received my spinning wheel) but don’t think it would sell as it is quite thick and thin and also there are some slubs in it!!! The other idea is to use it to knit squares into a blanket or my favourite is to use it in a handknit shawl….

Do you have any ideas what I can do with it??? Do you think there is a market for this type of handspun yarn??? Either leave a comment below or email me and let me know what you think!!!

One thought on “Spinning Merino

  1. I absolutely think there’s a market for handspun yarn with character — check out the huge variety of handspun yarn shops on Etsy! Everyone has their own style, and I sincerely believe that as long as you’re willing to find and market to your target audience, there *is* an audience for every structurally-sound type of yarn out there. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

