Spinning Camel Hair

Last Christmas I bought some camel hair to spin.

DSC_0006 (3)

It sat in my fibre stash up until a few months ago when I decided I wanted to try spinning something more unusual than the usual fibre (silk, bamboo etc), so I pulled it out and had a go at spinning it.

This fibre is very long stapled which made spinning it rather difficult as I couldn’t get it as thin as I wanted to.

DSC_0003 (3)

DSC_0027

It was also rather more coarse than I would have imagined it to have been, but the plied yarn came out quite even.

DSC_0030

DSC_0034

What did surprise me was that it still had guard hairs in it even though it had been commercially processed, but it did give a lovely halo.

DSC_0021

I would definitely recommend this fibre to any spinner, even if it is just to say that you have spun it. It is also unusual to find camel hair ready to knit with, so if you are interested then hop over to my etsy shop via the link on the left hand side and buy some. If you’re not a knitter then it would make a great Christmas gift for someone you know that knits.

Leave a Reply

