A Yarn Shop Review

On Friday hubby and I took a trip upto Warrington to do some shopping at “The Black Sheep” which is a craft shop that had been recommended to me by a good friend Jo who has the Shinybees Blog

It was a two hour drive of which I was very excited as I had seen on their blog that they sold Noro Silk Garden sock yarn.

Here are some pics of “The Black Sheep”.

craft_barn_exterior

craft_barn_int_four

craft_barn_int_two

From the pictures the shop looked a bit small and seemed to have a lot of cross stitch and embroidery items, so was not sure how much yarn there was.

When I walked in I was very surprised to say the least. The shop was 3/4 full of yummy yarny goodness. I was overwhelmed by all the yarn and nearly had to go and sit down on the comfy leather sofa to recover, but alas I didn’t and just wandered around in amazement.

The main thing I had decided to buy was the Noro Silk Garden sock yarn, so I straightaway chose two skeins.

DSC_0017

DSC_0018

I also saw some other sock yarn and chose this gorgeous shades of brown of Rico Superba sock yarn.

DSC_0019

Whilst I was looking around I spotted the Noro lace weight yarn, but couldn’t decide whether to get 2 skeins of that or to get a sweaters worth of Louisa Harding Aimee as it was on sale for £1.99 per 50g ball, which would make a sweaters worth less than £20.

What made my decision was that I didn’t know the exact yardage of the cardigan that I wanted to knit it was in the new book I received a couple of weeks ago entitled “Knitting Off The Axis”. The cardigan is “Dominique” which is a very lacy cardigan. So I chose 2 skeins of the yummy Noro lace instead.

DSC_0023

Of course hubby decided he wanted a new beanie, so we chose 2 skeins of Sublime Extra Fine Merino 4ply in what other colour but black!!

DSC_0024

Once I was happy with my basket of goodies I went and paid and was very surprised at the total amount, it all came to less than £40. I had a lovely chat with one of the ladies about sock knitting and was told that it was lovely that people had begun to knit socks again.

Anyway, I could see my hubby was getting antsy, so we went back to the car. Whilst in the car we were talking and I mentioned that I was going to have a look at the yardage of yarn for the “Dominique” cardigan I wanted to make and would order the Louisa Harding yarn. All of a sudden I realised that I had my iPhone with me and could look on Ravelry and see how much yardage I needed. My hubby said that this was a good idea as I may has well get it whilst I was there to save on the postage. I found the pattern rather quickly and saw that I would need a maximum of 1400yds to knit it, so decided to go back in and left hubby in the car.

As soon as I went back in the lovely lady I had had a chat with said “that was quick, you’re back”. I laughed and said that I had wanted to knit a cardigan from a pattern I had seen but didn’t know the yardage which had put me off buying the yarn, so I had looked on the internet for the yardage and had decided to buy the yarn there and then. Off I went to have a look at the Louisa Harding Aimee yarn.

I couldn’t decide what colour to get. I had knitted quite a few pink cardigan, so ruled the pink out, but then saw a lovely salmon colour and a lovely aqua colour. I couldn’t decide which I preferred, so counted how many balls of the aqua there was and there was exactly 10 balls which just so happened to be the amount I needed, so chose that.

DSC_0025

Whilst paying at the till, the ladies was having a discussion about the heating. Some of them were hot and some were cold and one even suggested she should begin dancing ;D . I found the temperature perfect which is a surprise for me as I am usually very warm in shops, but my choice would definitely be put the heating on as being cold is never a good thing.

I would definitely recommend you go and visit “The Black Sheep”, whether it be online or in person as it is an excellent shop with great prices and brilliant customer service. You can also find them on Ravelry, Twitter and Facebook. I for one will definitely be buying from them again and would like to thank Jo for recommending them to me.

2 thoughts on “A Yarn Shop Review

  1. Glad you enjoyed it. I have to ration myself on going as I end up being in there for ages and never leave without a bag full of yarn. Somehow it never seems to cost more than £50 no matter how much I get! Yay!

    Like

Leave a Reply

