Bakewell Wool Gathering 2016

Last weekend I went to the Bakewell Wool Gathering.  It was the first time I had been to this fibre show, so wasn’t quite sure what to expect.

I was pleasantly surprised.  There were a lot of Indie dyers there, mainly yarn, but there was some fibre.  The majority of the yarn was a reasonable price, but there was a couple of stalls that were asking ridiculous amounts of money.  Over £40 for 100g of yarn.  I wish I could get that price for my hand dyed yarn.

I bought a lot of yarny goodness, and some project bags to tide me over until I get round to making my own.


On Sunday we travelled to Chesterfield so I could visit Hobbycraft to get some grosgrain ribbon for my future project bags.


Hubby also treated me to a new steam iron, as mine was very old and was getting rusty.

I thoroughly enjoyed my weekend away, although I’m not too sure which I prefer, Woolfest or Bakewell Wool Gathering.  Woolfest is mainly fibre whereas Bakewell is mainly yarn, so I guess it depends on what I need to buy.

Leave a Reply

